Light painting

So for a while now I’ve wanted to try out using sparklers to “paint” in pictures. Yes, this might sound crazy but it’s a real thing. All you need is a tripod, sparklers, lighter and a DSLR camera or you could find an app that slows down your shutter speed on your phone.

I waited until it was dark out so that the sparklers would have a really good glow. Making sure your camera is on the right settings is very important as well. On mine I had an ISO of 100, f-stop of 5.6 and kept it on the bulb setting so I could keep the shutter open long even to capture all the writing.

Once the camera was all set up it took a minute or so to get the hang of writing with the sparklers and making sure I didn’t go outside the frame, but after that it was a blast.

At first I started writing the words backwards but then realized I could always write them normal for me and flip them on an app later, (I used Afterlight).

Here are some of the results:

IMG_4952 IMG_4954 IMG_4955 IMG_4956

I really recommend anyone trying this!! It was a lot of fun and seeing the results were so worth it!

Until next time,

IMG_4949

Leave a comment